Phone line charge? Avoidable?

Two months ago my next door neighbor ordered Dish with a dual tuner and a single tuner. I told him he had to connect a telephone line and he said the rep he talked to and the installer didn't tell him about keeping it hooked up. He said he wasn't going to do it or pay it. He's a stubborn old coot and right now, the installer is out, removing the dish and the receivers. He told me that he tried to talk to the old coot(his words) but since he wasn't told he is having it removed and going with DirectTV. He said he is going to challenge his charges on his VISA card which is how he paid for it. I've had some experience with that and I think it's a slam dunk as VISA really takes care of their customers that charges are in dispute. Bottom line is DirectTV may charge him for the receivers hooked up to phone lines but they are going to have to tell him first. Hard headed.......sure was a lot of trouble to go through for a phone line he may still have to pay for. Any ideas on this from any others.

This hogwash is tempting me to lock out my receiver by punching in the wrong PIN a few times requiring me to call Dish to unlock it. I will of course disconnect the phone line before calling. Who thinks they'll be able to unlock my receiver ?? I'm confident it will.

Think about this Zero, to do what you suggest would require the receiver to dial in to Dish. Why would it dial in ?? Is my phone going to ring while I'm on the line with the rep and my receiver will answer the call ?? Don't think so.....

Now now children, if you don't calm down I'm turning this satellite right around and we're going home!