PLEASE HELP!!! Trouble with galaxy 25/IA5, only 50% signal

Status
Please reply by conversation.

d_kloster

Original poster
Aug 11, 2008
Hello and good day to anyone reading...

I am a former DirecTV installer, 5 + years. I picked up a side job installing a 90cm dish, single LNB dish, to pick up the galaxy 25 aka Intelsat 5. The reciever is a Traxis, model number i am not positive, but 90% sure it is
DBS 5400CI. I got the azimuth and elevation for Providence RI, as 231 az. and 35.1 ele. Not sure about the skew/tilt, one person told me to keep at 90 degrees, but the manual told me 114.
I cannot get the signal above 50%, no matter how much I adjust the skew/tilt, azi. and ele. Now I am not "green" when it comes to peaking out a dish, but no matter what I do it wont go past 50% signal strength. LOS is completely clear at 35 elevation, in fact, its clear to probably 40 degrees.
This is my first FTA international gig, although I've completed several DirecTV international dishes. I dont know what to do, the cable length is 60 ft max, dish to reciever. A friend told me it was possible the satellite might be lower than 35 degrees in the sky, even though the dish is set to 35, but I am not sure if I buy that.
I have no meter, so I have been using cell phones to talk with someone waching the signal meter on the TV, a method tried and true in my career. My birddog broke on me again, 12c error.
If anyone can help, please do so, I am desperate to finish this asap, the guy wants to open the bar wednesday, the 13th. Which leaves me just tomorrow to complete the job.
Thank you for taking the time to read this and for your advice.

well 230 looks close on the az and 35 for elevation and +25.8 for skew

if you checked to ensure the dish isn't warped (lay it on a flat surface)

and like Lak7 mentioned the LO is important

also some dishes have been known to be slightly off on the elevation mark so don't be supprised if you don't get a signal until up around 40