Pre-wired house with entertainment "Hub." Worth it?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

yourbeliefs

Something Profound
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Sep 20, 2007
Northeast
My dad is buying a condo that is still being built. He put me in charge of the electronic stuff, and the builders apparently talked to him about pre-wiring the house with speakers for the multi-room audio function and having all the components (stereo, receivers, dvd player, etc) away in a closet or the basement. Although I am a bit of a techno-geek, I have no experience with a system like this, where all the components are in a separate place and everything is controlled by one controller and speakers are built into the walls. A rough estimate for all this stuff, which includes about 9 indoor speakers, 2 outdoor speakers, Integra DTR 5.9 2 Zone Receiver, universal remotes, and all the labor/wiring costs are about $7k (I'll post the actual estimate form once I edit out some personal information from it.)

The condo itself is very open, with very few or no walls on the first floor and I think some open stuff on the 2nd floor. The speakers will be in the family room (5.1 ch setup), master bedroom, and office (2 ch each.) Again I'll post more specific information when I can get it.