Question about antenna

brianincbus

Original poster
Aug 16, 2005
Cape Coral, FL
Newbie here and I wanted to know if I can hook a pre-amp up to a non-amplified antenna? Directv sent me a Winegard Sensar III non-amplified antenna when they installed my HD, and according to antennaweb I have ABC and NBC right on the cusp of coming in... which they don't. :cool:

If you've already got your preamp give it a try. I think given your stations are all about the same direction and less than 15 miles away and only the future CBS is on VHF, you'd be better off investing in an all channel antenna. Being as close to the stations as you are you're likely to overload a preamp. The Sensar antennas are really not much better than a rabbit ears antenna wheras even a 5 ft long U-V antenna will have significant gain at UHF and more importantly will discriminate against signals (ghosts and interferance especially) coming in from directions the antenna is not pointed at.

Pre-amp really helps if you plan to distribute the signal to multiple devices. I have 4 TV's hooked up and crystal clear picture from just beyond the "fringe".

Without the preamp I get snow year round!:rolleyes:

Do you have any suggestions? I've read on some other forums the Channelmaster 4228 is about the best on the market. Does that get UHF and VHF? Thanks for your help.

The CM 4228 is UHF only. This is fine for me as that is where my digital stations are and I get the SD stations via E* and this ensures I get the guide info. BTW, the CM 4228 does a great job!

--Doug

yellow - uhf WZVN-DT 26.1 ABC NAPLES FL 55° 14.4 41
* yellow - uhf WRXY-DT 33.1 CTN TICE FL 60° 11.4 33
* yellow - uhf WTVK-DT 45.1 WB NAPLES FL 60° 11.4 45
* yellow - vhf WINK-DT 9 CBS FORT MYERS FL 01-06 61° 13.5 9
* yellow - uhf WFTX-DT 36.1 FOX CAPE CORAL FL 56° 11.4 35
* yellow - uhf WGCU-DT 30.1 PBS FORT MYERS FL 57° 14.2 31
* yellow - uhf WBBH-DT 20.1 NBC FORT MYERS FL 55° 14.4 15