Question for the professional installers

Status
Please reply by conversation.

derdude

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Sep 10, 2004
I have a question for the professional installers. When you are finding a satellite do you use a compass or a satellite meter for azimuth?

Thanks…

I use my compass/inclinometer to check for line of sight and to ballpark the satellite down to a few degree's (Azimuth). Then I use my positive identification satellite meter to find and then peak the signal. Knowing the exact elevation makes it really easy, move the dish left and right (azimuth) and bang there is the signal.

http://www.dmsiusa.com/site_survey.htm

I'm not a pro installer but I can just eyeball it :)

Pete is right...if you have the elevation right, azimuth is real easy to get :D

human satellite finder-LOL

I have played around with so many dish pointing schemes in my yard i can literally "eyeball" the dish and get down to within 4 degrees of what it's pointed at.

gave up the meter and compass a while back :D

I think at this point I have set up too many satellite dishes and yes my neighbors think i am strange for having all those dishes. although my property looks nice and is well maintained, i still get ridiculed. They just don't understand. After all I don't make fun of them for having Longerberger basket parties and home interior pow wow's.

Im looking for fta installers for our fta website (legal free to air)..
Im going to let installers advertise for $50 a month to start.. Noticable sales area includes, the Carolinas, California, Florida and Texas.. we do sell to every state..
Please email info@ftadirect.com
(ATTN Admins and Mods)
I hope you do not consider this as spamming.. I do appreciate your site and just trying to spread the word of legal fta, and too have some installers available as every customer asks about that.
Thanks