Maybe a naive question

MattFL

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
May 24, 2022
South Florida
This may be a bit of a naive question, but I’m still a newbie at this compared to many here. I will tread lightly in respect to the forum rules. I see over at Rick’s that they post a lot of BISS wildfeeds. Is this for “hey I found this” purposes, or am I missing something? I hope you see where I am going with this as it’s just an information gathering question about the hobby and not looking to violate rules. Thanks guys.

Ricks posts all feeds that pop up. Whether it be watchable or not. Some are in 4:2:2 , which is only watchable on a PC, and others in Biss, other encryptions and some in FTA. Sometimes a specific weekly repeatable feed that is usually biss, 1 in 10 times might be FTA. But, i appreciate that they post the encryption method. That way, i don't waste my time moving my dish and trying to catch the service just to see it. Others just get the thrill of catching a signal that wasn't there. I myself, when i post feeds, like to put whether its DVBs or DVBs2, others leave that out. I do it because my receiver, i have to specifically specify which it is to scan it in. So, to answer your question, they put the encryption method just to give as much detail as possible and let others know that its watchable/not watchable.