Question from Newbie in Florida

frankie32

Original poster
Oct 16, 2009
florida
Hi Guys,
Complete novice here, sorry. My wife and live in Florida, Kissimmee, 34744. We are shortly going to dump Dish network, go to a digibox for local channels, and have a computer hooked up to the TV via HDMI and our network, so we can watch films from the net. When we ditch Dish Network, they will be leaving behind the two dishes we have from them (one for regular Dish Network programmes, one for Eurochannel, which we separately subscribe to).

My question is, bearing in mind where we live, is it worthwhile hooking up some sort of satellite receiver and utilising the dishes in the direction they are already pointing? (I know we won't get Dish network, and we're not bothered about that). Will we receive any/many additional English speaking programmes with where the dishes are pointing at the moment (or if not, is it easy to change that). If so, can anyone recommend a reciever that is easy to set up for an technically inept person?!!

Thanks in advance. Hope I have explained it properly.

Last edited:
You would have to realign the dishes and get receivers in order to get FTA programming.

Realign to & receiver?

Thanks for that. To get a reasonable choice of English speaking programmes can you give me an idea where to re-align to, or where I might find that info, and also what simple receiver would you recommend for someone completely new to this?

Been & Gone & Done it

Okay, guys, thanks for your earlier advice. We have now dumped Dish, got all the local channels coming in nicely, have our network hooked up to our TV, so we have a fair range of stuff to watch.

It seems a waste to do nothing with these two redundant Dish network dishes mentioned above, all cabled up, which are sat there with nothing attached to them at the moment, still pointing to the direction dish network set them originally. (We realise we're going to have to re-align them)

Just thought I'd pick your brains;