Question on OTARD, apartments, etc

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

gobulls

Original poster
Aug 16, 2011
Buffalo NY
Hi all,

Hope this is in the right area. If not, please point me to the right direction.

I am a college student moving into an on-campus apartment this year. We get "free cable" - but it's about the worst cable I've ever seen - there are no HD channels and half of the channels are snowy and grainy.

As such, I'd like to set up satellite. Now, it's not exactly that easy though. I would have to do so through a window, which I know isn't ideal, but I'm aware of the limitations, and seeing as it's my only option, I'm willing to try it. I have a window that has a view of the DirecTV satellites. I have zero outdoor "exclusive use areas."

However, my lease agreement states "Satellite dishes are not allowed on any complex grounds." I'm aware of OTARD, and I don't see how this is would be allowed. However, this is the type of apartment where I have basically signed all my rights away - not allowed to use extension cords, cannot burn candles, etc.