Realistic High Power Remote Speaker Switch

marsworth75

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
We have just moved in to a house that has wired speakers in 4 of its rooms. These speakers are connected to a Realistic High Power Remote Speaker Switch. There are 2 wires, which look like speaker wire coming out of the box to connect to a receiver or whatever? I am totally new to this type of thing. How can I connect a radio, ipod, satellite box etc. to the house speakers. Any help would be appreciated but be warned I am a definite newbie to this so please explain in very simple english.
Thanks for any help and advice

These are designed to allow you to connect up to 4 sets of speakers to one amplifier. Each can be turned on and off at the center, so you can have all 4 on at once. Be advised though that when you connect multiple speakers, the impedance drops at the receiver. If you are using 8 ohm speakers and you turn on all 4 sets, the impedance the receiver sees would be 8/4=2 ohms. Most reasonable amplifiers are designed to work at 4-16 ohms impedance, so I would be careful using all 4 at once. You would probably be OK, but keep the volume down when all 4 are in use.

Sorry about getting technical with the impedance stuff. Bottom line is to use the speakers one at a time, or keep the overall volume down. Also use an amplifier that has around 100W per channel capacity.

There should be speaker wires going to the speakers in each room, likely 2 sets for stereo. There should also be 2 pairs of wires going to a place for your amplifier. Connect the amplifier and any source material (such as an ipod, CD player, etc) to this location, and you should be set to go.

First thanks for the reply. Secondly what kind of amplifier do I need. See I told you I was a newbie. I'm also not an audiophile so I would be looking for something inexpensive and functional. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Again thanks for your response, the info really helps.