Satellite techs-how much paid for installs?

satellitetech

Original poster
Dec 30, 2004
I'm a satellite tech & trying to find out if other companies pay as bad as mine. I may get paid 86.50 for an install, but after they deduct "invoices" (which is where I buy the cable and small parts myself) and "parts" (which are parts used for a specific job) I'm only getting a little over half the original $86.50! Granted, it's their truck and gas, but that job could take anywhere from 2 to 6 hours...depending. Are there satellite companies that don't try to take their employees for stupid, and actually pay them good?!?! I'm in Kentucky.

In Louisville - got the private reply - but sorry - didn't know how to respond. How much does the company you work for pay for like 1 in 2? Just to compare. Only been doing this for a few months, but working long hours. I know I'll get quicker....I'm only finishing 2 to 4 jobs a day. Some are REAL *&*^*$! Like one house had 7 KIDS running and jumping over my stuff! I've heard other techs at work saying they know of other companies locally that pay better....and they keep losing employees. They do pay some on insurance, and do take out taxes, which to me, would be a pain to do myself!

I know install time varies...but on average, how many installs are you capable of in a day or weeks time? I know over time I'll be able to do better than an average of 2 to 4 a day...but how long will that take? Give me some encouragement guys!

satellitetech said:
I know install time varies...but on average, how many installs are you capable of in a day or weeks time? I know over time I'll be able to do better than an average of 2 to 4 a day...but how long will that take? Give me some encouragement guys!

satellitetech,