Signal Meter

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Bert36

Original poster
Jun 26, 2009
Texas
I am considering on buying a used meter to carry in my RV.

As I am not a professional installer it is hard for me to justify spending $500 - $600 for a meter that will seldom be used.

I was able to set up the used 5 lnb Slimline dish that purchased by using the receiver without a meter.

It took a while , I could find 110 & 119 but not 101. After tweaking a little on 119 I got some signal on 101 and was able to proceed.

Is a used Birddog a good choice and what is the oldest version that will work with a swm 3 lnb Slimline dish? Are there better or more affordable choices?
I figure to probably buy on Ebay.

I have an Acutrac 22 meter for sale listed in the Classified section that would probably work for you. It works with Directv, Dish Network and FTA systems. It has 22k on and off and Disceq selections as well. You can also read the signal on 2 ports at the same time.

Get a version 3.0 or newer version Birdog. The older 2.5's have a smaller battery that can't power the new lnbs. You'll like the Birdog because it positively identifies the satellites and assures that the correct lnb is pointed at the correct satellite. In my opinion it's better to spend a few hundred dolllars for a good meter and tripod setup, than a few thousand dollars on an automatic dish that's useless when you park under a tree.