Sonicview 8000HD ATSC OTA performance

JohninSD

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 7, 2009
San Diego
Anyone using the Sonicview 8000HD to watch OTA ATSC stations? I'm new to the FTA world and trying to decide whether to buy this unit so I can combine OTA and FTA setup. Right now I have two of the coupon converter boxes, labeled Sansonic - they work pretty well, get all the San Diego locals in SD using a Channelmaster 3018 antenna on the roof. I also have a Samsung SIR T451 HD Receiver which I bought about 3 years ago in anticipation of the digital switchover. It is sitting in the closet as it does not tune in all the stations that the Sansonic units do.
I had DirecTV for two years, dropped it about a month ago - I got it mainly so I could see the Tour de France and they dropped Versus from their lineup so I was paying for nothing - most of what I want to see is available for free OTA.
My interest in FTA is to get the Create TV network from PBS - I see it's available on one of the satellites. The local PBS station here had it on one of their sub channels for a while but they replaced it with V-Me - I emailed them and asked why and they said they had just been carrying it to test the technology - no one was expected to actually watch it - seemed kind of strange.
Anyway, before I hooked up the Sansonic boxes I was not aware of the large variations in ATSC receiver performance - thought the Samsung would do better than the Sansonics - but there is a big difference which is why I ask whether anyone is using the Sonicview's OTA capabilities.
thanks,
John

I've been using my 8000HD to watch OTA. It works very well. The tuner in it is better than the one that is built into my Samsung TV, which is why I ended up hooking up to the SV. Plus it will download programming info for the guide from many of my local stations that provide it.

I also like the signal meter...really helps when you're aiming the antenna.

OTA Performance disappointing -