South Africa - Help: I need information on FTA recivers that will work here

Status
Please reply by conversation.

lukemab

Original poster
Mar 24, 2009
South Africa

Hi, I am in South Africa and would like to know of FTA HD receivers that will work in South Africa to pick up C Band and KU band or any otehr bands available. As you may or may not not know there is only one Satelite operator in South Africa called Multichoice who charge ridiculous prices and have very little good content. they broadcast with a iredeto and iredeto 2 encryption. i'm not sure if anyone knows of a receiver or pc card that can also decrypt this.

Also what is a CAM?

I'm new to all of this

Hi, I am in South Africa and would like to know of FTA HD receivers that will work in South Africa to pick up C Band and KU band or any otehr bands available. As you may or may not not know there is only one Satelite operator in South Africa called Multichoice who charge ridiculous prices and have very little good content. they broadcast with a iredeto and iredeto 2 encryption. i'm not sure if anyone knows of a receiver or pc card that can also decrypt this.

Also what is a CAM?

I'm new to all of this

Lukemab,

CAM is a Conditional Access Module. Either a SMART card or a built-in electronic circuit or IC that can be programmed by the satellite provider to allow your receiver to access their encrypted channels.

When you subscribe to your pay sat TV provider (in your case, MultiChoice) they would transmit a signal down to your receiver and only your receiver would understand the instructions as the CAM would be coded with your receiver's serial number and other codes that they would set up when you purchased that particular receiver. Possibly something related to your account number and subscription choices (channels purchased).

Other receivers of the same make and model would ignore these "unlocking" signals because the codes transmitted only work for the CAM module and your specific receiver.