1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Thinking of getting Directv - Few Questions Regarding Equipment

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by gireesh, Aug 31, 2019.

  1. gireesh

    gireesh Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am thinking of getting Directv and have some space constraints where I can place the receivers.

    I have two locations where I want the receivers to be, connected to two 4K TVs. They are both hardwired for gigabit LAN. My questions are follows:

    (1) Will I be able to get an HS17 + two 4K clients w/o paying extra equipment cost at start up?
    (2) Where can I get dimensions of the equipment, say HS17, HS54, and client boxes that work with H17 and HS54?

    Thanks in advance for any info you can provide
     
  2. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    561
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    PA
    Solid signal has the dimensions on all the boxes you are referring to
     
  3. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,973
    Likes Received:
    11,189
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    If you want 4k on both tvs, then the HS17 is your only option since the HR54 only does one 4k stream.
     
  4. rad

    rad Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,188
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    FYI, the C61K needs a coax connection to the HS17, it can’t use your Gig-E.



    Sent from my iPad using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  5. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,702
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    You could if you have a DECCA adaptor. I have several running on ethernet where a coax cable was not available
     
  6. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,702
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Yeah, but I really hate that solution in general
     
  7. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    587
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Just to be clear for the OP, you can have two C61Ks with an HR54 but you can only watch 4K on one TV at a time. With an HS17 you'd be able to watch 4K on both. Two 4K streams is the max with an HS17 but you can have more than two clients with either one.
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  8. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,973
    Likes Received:
    11,189
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Correct!
     
  9. rad

    rad Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,188
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    So if you get a HR54 when you need to have that installed someplace where you don't want 4K since it doesn't output 4K. If the OP only needs two clients, both 4K, then the HR54 is a waste. And if your knock against the HS17 is the single point of failure, the OP would then need to have a HR54 and another STB and still need the two C61K's.

    I've had the HS17 since before it was released (yea a tester) and I still have that original HS17 and it's going strong. The only thing that ticks me off about it is no AM21/LCC support and sources say none is coming.
     
  10. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Texas
    Is it too late to return your TV's? If not, get a "DIRECTV 4K-ready smart TV" and you won't need any boxes...
     
  11. rad

    rad Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,188
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Bad idea. Most set makers have dropped that function and the one’s that had it sucked compared to a STB (I have three of those and went back to mini clients on all of them).
     
  12. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    561
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    PA
    They haven’t made one of those in a few years
     
  13. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,702
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    But to be honest, how many of us who have 4K Tvs and 4K equipment with Directv are watching 4K?

    IMHO, I have been watching more 4K on Netflix and on DVD than I have on Directv.

    Until they get something like ESPN or History in 4K I have very little need for the service.

    It’s like discovery Hd Theatre. Yeah it was great to show off HD, but I never sat through an entire show.

    When I had Dish (I hate saying that name) we used to keep it on the HD demo channel in my office. I must have watched that more than anything.

    And I was one of those early adopters with s home theatre Pc, model 5000 and channel 3 HD modulator
     
  14. rad

    rad Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,188
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    The OP wasn’t asking for an opinion on the 4K programming but how to install with two C61K’s. As for who has 4K TV’s, I have 3 of them.
     
    raoul5788 likes this.
  15. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,882
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I have 2 4k sets, but don't have the D* 4k equipment ...
    I've tried to get it and they refuse to listen to me ...
    They will give it to me if I go with a HS17, but they don't seem to know HOW to run that order with a HR54 ....

    I need my HR24's for camping and tailgating, so I'm NOT going with the HS17 ...

    Thats on them, they are the ones that refused to let you keep your stand alone recvrs.

    As mentioned above, theres plenty on Netflix and AP ...
    It would be nice to be able to watch Football on D* in 4k.
     
  16. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you maybe get just the HR54 out of them and then order the C61K's from SolidSignal?

    DIRECTV 4K Genie Mini Client for All Genie DVRs and Receivers (C61K) from Solid Signal
     
  17. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    561
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    PA
  18. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,882
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
  19. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,882
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    That shouldn't matter ... I can order from SS and activate it with D*, what do they care where I got it as long as it's not used.

    Chances are, I'd only use the C61k for when there would be a 4k show I that I wanted to see, seeing theres not much on, I'm not in a hurry, but it would be nice to have.
     
  20. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,973
    Likes Received:
    11,189
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Trying to get an HR54 from ATT is like pulling teeth. Apparently they want to have everyone on the HS17 and clients.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...