TiVo to have automatic skipping of commercials soon...

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by edisonprime, Apr 3, 2019.

  1. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
  2. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,310
    Likes Received:
    2,892
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Hydra only. :(
     
  3. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    I actually LIKE and PREFER Hydra myself.
     
  4. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,553
    Likes Received:
    2,031
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    I’ve had auto skip enabled thru IFTTT since they enabled that skill. I’ll have to disable the skill once they send out the update making it a native function.
     
  5. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    I’m currently using IFTTT and it is VERY INCONSISTENT on when it works.
     
  6. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    I called TiVo to see when this update should happen and she said April 8th. Now I’m not sure if that’s accurate, but that’s what she told me.
     
  7. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,553
    Likes Received:
    2,031
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    It’s the Spring update, it’ll start rolling out in the next few days to a few to make sure no huge bug complaints start coming in on something they missed. After that it will start rolling out to everyone else. Probably a couple of weeks to hit everyone on TE4.
     
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,298
    Likes Received:
    4,558
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I'm fine with the Green button commercial skip, and even just plain 30 second skip for programs that don't have commercial skip. I have a Roamio basic, and I am not going to be loading crappy Hydra anytime soon.
     
  9. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    I honestly don’t get all the Hydra hate.
     
  10. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,298
    Likes Received:
    4,558
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I have an account on Tivo Community, and I read the horror threads. Once Tivo found out there were serious issues with Hydra, they stopped the roll-out, and changed it to not be global. They did a lot more work after that, but I'm not ready to trust it, as it wipes all your recordings if you don't like it and decide to revert.

    Let others be the beta-testers, once it's perfected, that'll be soon enough to think of switching. The older previous firmware still works perfectly..
     
  11. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    I lurk there and have read the posts, and I still don’t get it. I just happen to love the Hydra format. (I actually also have an account there and made a couple posts there A LONG TIME AGO. I have the same username there if you want to peek at my account.) I’ve also seen many on the TiVo Community website that love the DirecTV THR22 (even though some there still loathe it) while it’s reviled on most other websites.
     
    #11 edisonprime, Apr 3, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2019
  12. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,310
    Likes Received:
    2,892
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    UI preference is a funny thing. For a lot of people it is just about what they are used to. For me, it is all about how many button presses it takes to do something. IMHO, it seems that UI designers are focusing on looking modern and slick over easy of use. I haven't used Hydra, but the videos I've seen of it make it seem more button-press-happy than the previous UIs from Tivo, but I could be wrong. There are many examples of this over the years, such as TWC going from SARA and Passport to Navigator.
     
  13. cpalmer2k

    cpalmer2k SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    464
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    United States
    So far I've resisted changing over to Hydra but my primary reason is that I transfer a large portion of my TiVo recordings for archiving either to hard drive or Blu-Ray discs. You use to be able to do this with the TiVo Desktop software they made available but they no longer offer or support it. There is a great third party solution called pyTiVo that is even better at transferring recordings though and gives you a nice clean .ts stream file to work with in VideoReDo. In Hydra they removed the ability to transfer a recording to one box from another one and to "push" recordings back to TiVo that you previously downloaded. The author of pyTiVo has speculated that because of these developments he believes they may disable the TiVo to PC transfer option in the future too. I haven't been willing to take that chance, so I've avoided the upgrade.

    I am glad to see that the "older" system will be supported on the Apple TV app. I've been looking forward to that feature very much. I'd like to have the auto commercial skip and the Hydra's new feature that automatically extends recordings for sports events but I'm not willing to risk losing my ability to archive stuff.
     
    edisonprime and dfergie like this.
  14. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    Makes sense.
     
  15. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    55901
    I take that back. My username on tivocommunity.com is eman926. Although it is still edisonprime on dbstalk.com and avsforum.com if you’re interested in peeking at my other accounts. If you happen to look at the DirecTV and Dish website forums my username is eman926.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...