TNTHD aspect ratio problem

timclark

Original poster
Jul 31, 2004
All
I am pretty new to Dish and have an 811 connected to a Samsung HLP4663W with the HD package..

I have the 811 HD configured for 720P output (native resolution for the Samsung). This seems to work well for all the HD signals except for TNTHD. The aspect ratio often does not seem right. Everyone looks "short and fat". I have tried changing the zoom settings to see if it improves but it just doesn't look right no matter which setting I use. Law and Order always looks funny.

I have found that if I switch the output of the 811 to 480P then the picture on TNTHD looks more correct. This is the only HD channel I have found this to be the case on. All others seem to be fine with 720P or 1080i

No hits on any of the existing forum threads, so I thought I would start one.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Hope I have given you all enough info.

Thanks
Tim

You see that on TNT-HD because they stretch all 4x3 images to fill your 16x9 screen.

timclark said:
All
I am pretty new to Dish and have an 811 connected to a Samsung HLP4663W with the HD package..

I have the 811 HD configured for 720P output (native resolution for the Samsung). ....
Tim

Tim,
I would set the 811 to 1080i. I have Samsung DLP as well and find that to be better. Mainly because any HD (Satellite or OTA) programing that is being broadcast in 1080i has to be downconverted to 720p for the Samsung to display it. Your TV has a built in downconverter that is far superior than the downconverter in the 811. So letting the signal pass through to the TV in 1080i should (and does for me) result in a better 720p HD picture.
:)

How nice of them to stretch the 4:3 images and not give me a choice..... Most TV's and the 811 offer all kinds of stretch modes for folks who feel they are paying by the square inch and don't care if Lenny from Law and Order looks like someone sat on his head.