TV2 IR Remote setup

larsonse

Original poster
Jan 7, 2010
Cape Coral, FL
I'm new to the dish community but am having a problem getting the remote - UHF Pro 6.4 to work. Which chip should I be using? I called tech support and they walked me through trying to set it up to no avail. They told me the converter box was dead. Is there a way to test the box itself? Based on my past experience with tech support I'm inclined to think the problem is the remote not the box. Any suggestions? I'm using a 625 and nothing between the converter and the tv. This is on TV2 BTW.

Really need a little more info.:confused: Is this a new installaion? Did it work, then stop? Have you tried changing the remotes' address (it tells you how in your manual)? TV1 is working fine?

The "chip" should show "2" for TV2 which is UHF.

Ed

My 625 came with a UHF Pro 6.0 for TV2. The 6.0 has a two-position switch under the "2" key. Flipping it over and reinserting it turns off UHF and turns on IR. The 6.3 has a 4-position switch, which gives you a lot more ways to go wrong. I'll bet the 6.4 is at least that complicated. Does it work for TV2 using UHF?

The TV2 IR converter is even more confusing. It can only use remote address 1, which is the default for TV1 operation. I would try getting the remote to work w/o the converter, i.e. with the UHF Pro remote on address 1. You may have to move the TV1 address to something other than 1 before you can get the receiver to switch the TV2 address.

When he said "converter box" I guessed he meant the 625, maybe he did mean the TV2 to IR converter...........:confused: Then the address does have to be 1.

Ed

That is wrong, the IR to UHF coverter can use ANY address it does not need to be 1.

That is wrong, the IR to UHF coverter can use ANY address it does not need to be 1.
If that is wrong, then why did Scott say this?