U239 - HWS

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by calbbs, Nov 17, 2017.

  1. calbbs

    calbbs Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Just noticed I got U239 early this morning. So far I don’t see anything different.
     
  2. littlecloud319

    littlecloud319 Tech guru

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Black Creek WI
    I had to unplug my super joey and plug in back in last night to get it to reconnect after the update. So naturally I checked the hopper to see if it updated and saw u239 showed up yesterday afternoon. Haven’t noticed any changes so far.
     
  3. joekawasaki

    joekawasaki SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minnesota
    U119 for the original hopper fixed my external hard drive. Recordings now play on the first try.
     
  4. dgrasha

    dgrasha Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    south ms
    did a Rescan and now everything is slowed down to a crawl. It finds the channels but when you tune to them, it causes a reboot.
    Big mess. I am using the older model OTA adapter that has not exhibited any of these problems before. For all intents and purposes, OTA through dish Hopper w/sling is no more. Any suggestions?
     
  5. MikeD-C05

    MikeD-C05 Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24,992
    Likes Received:
    13,650
    Location:
    Nederland , Texas
    Upgrade to a dual tuner ota dongle and a Hopper 3 .
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  6. jerryez

    jerryez Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    4,265
    Likes Received:
    735
    Location:
    Pensacola,FL
    I opened the upgrade app, but when I pushed the key, the HWS went dark and after two minutes went to starting up mode three times, but when I clicked on the version it still shows U238. Oh well, I guess sooner or later Dish will download it, I just wonder why they added the self upgrade button?
     
  7. dishrich

    dishrich SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    309
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
    Yea, forget about ANY OTA thru E* at all & get an OTA Tivo Roamio w/Lifetime...new ones are now under $400, come with 1 TB HDD's, have NO ongoing monthly fee, do 4 recordings at once & normally give you guide data for ALL your OTA channels. You can also find used or refurbed ones on Ebay for even less...I got mine for under $300 a couple year's ago & really like them.

    PLUS, if you ever decide to cut the (satellite) TV cord, you'll be all set to still DVR local channels. ;)
     
  8. dennispap

    dennispap SatelliteGuys Pro Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Hammond, La.
    it takes about 30 minutes to do the upgrade. You can't touch any button or it stops. Try again and leave it alone . It should work.
     
  9. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    3,383
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Or for a slightly cheaper option, switch to a Wally and an external hard drive, and use the dual tuner OTA dongle. :)
     
  10. dennispap

    dennispap SatelliteGuys Pro Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Hammond, La.
    I also have U239 and it is painfully slow........ Also the "ready to scan for ota stations" pops up randomly throughout the day. :oldmad
     
  11. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,786
    Likes Received:
    12,771
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Glad I don’t have 239 yet.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...