U527 new software on hopper 3 DVR

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by bluegras, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. bluegras

    bluegras Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    834
    Good morning my friends new software on the hopper 3 DVR this morning numerous bugs fixed changes to the menu page there may be others please check thanks

    Allen bluegras
     
  2. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,384
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Got both my Hopper 3s running with U527 now by using the Upgrade Software tool. Will check the 40.0 remote control color buttons later today.
     
  3. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    6,182
    Location:
    USA
    How about that super clear 1080 guide and menus. :)
     
    Riverpilot and charlesrshell like this.
  4. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    96,386
    Likes Received:
    11,063
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
  5. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Earth
    I tried the upgrade software tool. It ran through the entire download process but still shows U526?
     
  6. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,384
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    After you selected the tool button, did you not touch the remote or Hopper 3 till completion. Takes a long time.
     
  7. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Earth
    Nope, I sat patiently while the large warning screen with a progress gauge downloaded with a warning not to touch. It did the usual update then a small warning screen came on telling me apx. 5" to find a signal. Then it went to a station I was watching.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  8. jayiw

    jayiw SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    47
    Wasn't it already 1080? I cannot tell if it is sharper or not. Looks the same, maybe a little clearer?
     
  9. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    6,182
    Location:
    USA
    It was 720 before this update. When you look at it side by side with the old version the difference in clarity is very, very noticeable.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. Riverpilot

    Riverpilot SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Iowa
    Finally! That guide drove me nuts. I always felt I needed glasses because of how soft the text was. (FYI, I have 20/15 vision). HUGE improvement. Way to go Dish!
     
    HipKat and JSheridan like this.
  11. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    wonder if the HWS will get this update?
     
  12. Jon J

    Jon J SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Music City, USA
    Is a compilation of changes/updates for 527 available?
     
  13. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Earth
    Is the new guide being displayed in 1080P?
     
  14. jayiw

    jayiw SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    47
    My TVs show 1080i.
     
  15. dweber

    dweber SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    564
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Plain City, OH
    I am confused. The Hopper3 had a setting for Video Resolution. I thought that if you selected 4K, 1080p, or 1080i, that the normal resolution was 1080i except for a few VOD that was 1080p, or the 4K content on Demand or channel 540. If you selected 720p Dish output everything in 720p.

    Are you saying that the output changed to 720p when viewing the guide? I don’t believe that.

    I do agree that the guide does look sharper with U527 but the resolution according to my TV display was always 1080i except when watching 4K Dish content.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
  16. nyrfan1

    nyrfan1 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Tried to update with tool. Started to update, rebooted and then came back. Tried tool again, and it says "Your receiver already has the latest software installed. SWID U526
     
  17. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    4,615
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Location:
    Earth
    Evidently the guide was previously 720 and upscaled to 1080 now it is 1080
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  18. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Earth
    I've always found it hard to see much of a difference between 720P & 1080i.
     
    eddie willers and charlesrshell like this.
  19. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    6,182
    Location:
    USA
    I was told by somebody who knows at DISH that the guide was in 720 and now it's in 1080.

    I see a much, much clearer display on the guide and all the menus. The DVR tiles look spectacular.

    Beyond that, you can make whatever you want out of it. :)
     
  20. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,198
    Likes Received:
    10,259
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Be nice if it fixed the EHD problems.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...