Update to version 2.69?

golfman

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Dec 30, 2003
I am new to all of this. I will be receiving my 811 today. I have 3 questions:
1. How can I tell if I have 2.69?
2. Has anyone heard if Dish is working on an update to fix all of the problems with 2.69?
3. If so, what kind of time frame are we looking at?

Thanks for the feedback.

269 updates

Since your getting a new unit during the setup it's going to download 269.
After the setup the easiest way to see what version is to press the system
info button on the front of the unit, you'll see 269 followed by some other
letters under software version. Too me is seems to take a month or two
for new software version's to come out, but I don't really keep track too closely. Some of the bugs have been there before 269, some may have
appeared with 269. The 811 has gotten better, it's just kind of buggy.

It will take a little time to get the learning curve on it, but just use this forum
for help.

A_Pac said:
i just got my 811 installed today and it took 2.68
Turn the receiver off. Unplug from the AC power. Reconnect the AC cord but do not turn the receiver on. Watch your TV. The receiver should start downloading 2.69. Do not interupt until download is complete.

golfman said:
I am new to all of this. I will be receiving my 811 today. I have 3 questions:
1. How can I tell if I have 2.69?
2. Has anyone heard if Dish is working on an update to fix all of the problems with 2.69?
3. If so, what kind of time frame are we looking at?

Thanks for the feedback.

1> Press the sys info button
2> Most likely yes. Receiver is new so it is a good bet they are working on fixing the issues and finishing the features. ;)
3> Anybodies guess. Software is an art not a science and predicting release schedules usually is very inaccurate. 2.69 is a much improved release, but still has some issues as I am sure you can see.