V-Box or C band receiver for FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

zaxxon

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Aug 23, 2007
Dinwiddie VA USA
I am in the process of putting a new FTA system togeather. I have a 6 foot dish, H/H motor, a BSC621-2 and a Coolsat 6000 and a Coolsat 8000.

I may need to dump the BSC, but I will try it first.

Should I use a C band receiver to move the dish or a V-BOX.

I have a couple of C band receivers that work but I am leaning towards the V-BOX.

What I am looking for is ease of use. Will the V-Box work with the Coolsat or do I need to find the satellite with the V-Box just like a C band receiver then tune the Coolsat.

Anybody else using this type system??????????? Any hints thanks.

I do have a 4DTV with a ten foot dish that I installed, so that installation is no big deal.

I have done both C Band Receiver and VBox.
Once setup, the VBox was the easiest for me.
The receiver controls the VBox using DiSEqC 1.2 commands.

I have a BSC621 on my 10' BUD for 4DTV and it works super! A couple of other people that I know have had good luck too with the BSC621s. I have a BSC621-2 and a V BOX to put on a dedicated BUD for FTA but did not get it set up yet!!! I better get off of this site and get to work before snow flies!!!

definitely go with the VBOX. It integrates better with a FTA system than a c-band receiver. That's why I chose a VBOX for my friend when I got him into FTA to watch the local college team's telecast feeds - I like how seamless it is to go to a satellite from the FTA box compared to having him command the dish with his old Uniden and then go to the FTA box to do the tuning/watching.

I think if you are going to use a voltage controlled LNBF the only good reason to use your old C-band receiver(s) to move the dish is being able to catch the analog feeds that are still available.

I guess you could still slave the analog box anyway to catch the feeds, so if you don't need to control a servo V-Box is probably the way to go.