vip612 internal hard drive replacement

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by linuxlad, Nov 6, 2018.

  1. linuxlad

    linuxlad Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    Hi, i have a list of approved internal hard drives for vip612, my question is that although the model(s) with a "-57" suffix preceding the model number like "WD3200AAJS-57" will definitely work; is it possible to replace it with a version which does not include the "-57" after the model number?, it would just be a "WD3200AAJS". Would this work or must it have the -57?
     
  2. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    22,001
    Likes Received:
    13,015
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I believe the -57 is necessary. But if you already have the drive, I suggest trying it (if it's your receiver) and see if it works.
     
  3. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,322
    Likes Received:
    854
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    IIRC, the database in the receiver only accepts exact model number matches.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  4. tonybroadway

    tonybroadway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just replaced a hitachi drive in a 722k with a seagate drive ST3500312CS.
    I think this may be on the compatibility list for 612's also. If so, here is the ebay link where I got mine for $20.

    Seagate Pipeline HD 500GB 5900RPM 8MB Cache SATA2 3.5" Hard Drive -ST3500312CS 763649021682 | eBay
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  5. linuxlad

    linuxlad Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    Thanks for the replies, i found that some of the other models on the list are a better option and are very cheap even with a one-year warranty, for example the 500gb is only $28.00(with a 1-year warrant) and it is on the approved list.
    The models with -57 are now extremely rare and are too expensive so I will stay clear of them in the future, however, dish just offered me a 1:1 replacement at no cost regardless that i own this receiver so I will be required to return this one to them when the replacement arrives. I'm glad i was able to save my recordings(49) after the first time seeing the hard disk failure notification, but i was not so lucky five years ago when the previous drive completely just died, this is actually a replacement drive that i purchased at the time for around $30.00. Also just found out that the vip612 does not have the capability like the 211 to save scheduled timers directly to an external drive(bummer), I will have to save them to the external after just a few recordings and keep a log of them, seeing as to these DVR hard drives are prone to failure every so often.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  6. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,069
    Likes Received:
    10,106
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Be anal, like me. Save the important stuff on RAID EHDs.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  7. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    2,329
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Why not let dish replace the drive under warranty ?
     
  8. linuxlad

    linuxlad Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    They did, they sent me a replacement 612 free of charge and they said to keep the one with the defective drive, so its all good.
     
    TheKrell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...