Voom and DVR

rhouston

Original poster
Nov 15, 2004
Stafford, VA
Good morning.

I'm a new subscriber to Voom (2 weeks young) and I am somewhat happy thus far. I'm not receiving all of the channels that I'm supposed to (no ESPNHD and a few others).

I can deal with the channels being missing but the wife is on my back about the DVR.

I have a Hughes DVR with tuner that I used with my DIRECTV setup. Before I ordered Voom I specifically asked if I could use my current DVR with Voom and I was told that I could. So foar the past 2 weeks I've asked the installers as well as talking to the folks at Voom but I still don't have the DVR connected.

So I asking for some help. Can I connect up my current Hughes DVR with built in tuner to Voom? Also since I'm new to this technology please explain it in laymans terms. In other words, dumb it down for me. A step by step setup would be helpful as well like connect the 2 coax cables to the DVR, from the DVR connect a component cable to the Voom receiver, etc, etc.

Thanks again for the assistance.

If it is a DirecTV Box with DVR(TIVO?) no it will not work with Voom,if you have a DVR separate from D* like a Tivo or Replay then yes,but I believe you cannot use the boxes(DVR) tuner?

Tivo

Ok, since I can't use my existing DVR, can someone recommend a TIVO box that is inexpensive? I plan to buy Voom's DVR when it becomes available so I want something to tide me over until then.

Thanks.

rhouston said:
Ok, since I can't use my existing DVR, can someone recommend a TIVO box that is inexpensive? I plan to buy Voom's DVR when it becomes available so I want something to tide me over until then.

Thanks.

This is exactly what I just did. I first tried ReplayTV as it does have the capability to record digital locals via the Voom STB. However, to get this in place requires installation of a program called WiRNS. The procedures are listed in the "Voom and ReplayTV" thread on this forum.