were to point a shaw direct dish in Suncity, AZ

eddiefox

Aug 16, 2011
Phoenix,AZ
Ok I am directv and dish network installer i got a call to install a shaw direct satellite but i have never done this before i dont know what my elevation or skew is also what genarel directin to point it to or what satellite to look for with my birdog the customer has the legacy reciver which is the same as dish network receivers can some one pleas help me out i don't want to let the customer down and know i can do this if i just had some info on how to do it because i cant find any thing on the web on how to do it

Shaw Direct uses Motorola receivers, not Dish receivers

Shaw is at 107.3W (main) and 111.1 (HD) sats
If you are using a meter they are both KU band satellites (10750 LNB frequency) 22k off for 107.3 and 22k on for 111.1

per dishpointer the info is this for sun city
Elevation: 50.8°
Azimuth (true): 174.5°
Azimuth (magn.): 163.5°
Dish Skew : 87.1

so you're pretty close to true south for that setup :)

also Shaw uses Digicipher II so hopefully your meter can get that

If not maybe we can find a DVB transponder to put in there...actually here is a few on 111.1
11770 V 3270 (but its DVB-S2)
11862 V 10000 (data TP but DVB)

on 107.3 the few DVB transponders on there arent up 24/7 (news feeds) so its harder. But if you bring in 111.1 then 107.3 should fall into place

has the legacy reciver which is the same as dish network receivers