What DVB Computer Program to Use?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Wholeshoe

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 28, 2004
Received the TwinHan VisionDTV Starbox!!!

Guys

What computer program do you recommend to use for my soon to arrive USB Twinhan Starbox. I know it comes with sofware but have heard of a few others like ProgDVB and RitzDVB. Suggestion on how to get started with the box?

I have a full setup with my settop receivers but want those 4.2.2 and HD feeds!! I understand I need a plug-in for those, once again I am looking for suggestions. On that point do I also need plugins for things like AC3 Audio and Disecq 1.2?

I am a newbie again and looking to get pointed in the right direction and expierment from there.

(Edit: I just re-read the reveiw on it and it looks like maybe I want to get started and play with the included software to get oriented with it and then use MyTheater and try out the plugins. Does that sound like a plan?)

Thanks

Wholeshoe

Is it the free elecard codec I see at some shareware sites? It appears that there is also a $40 dollar version.

Wholeshoe

It is free but it puts a little graphic in the display until you register. I can't tell you specifically which file it is because I installed 3 different ones when I was trying to figure out how to use my PC card and I don't know which one finally worked.

Maybe someone can jump in.

I use both RitzDVB and MT 3.27 for normal FTA and HD viewing.

For 4:2:2 I love to use TSReader w/ VLC. No Elecard codec requiered. :yes

W_Tracy_Parnell said:
It is free but it puts a little graphic in the display until you register. I can't tell you specifically which file it is because I installed 3 different ones when I was trying to figure out how to use my PC card and I don't know which one finally worked.

Maybe someone can jump in.

The one that works is the Elecard 2.0, but its shareware and will scroll a long message on the bottom of the screen after about 2-3 weeks of usage.