1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

What is DVB-S2D?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Panavision, Mar 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. Panavision

    Panavision Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis Park, Minnesota
    I found this modulation scheme listed on lyngsat under Galaxy 3C Ku. Looks like it's used for a popular DBS provider.

    Thanks
     
  2. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    97W 48N
    DVB-S2 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Why the D after S2? probably to denote that it's an "in house" modification of the DVB-S2 standard. I figure the move to DVB-S2 is because their digital format(DSS) must have an issue with bandwidth/ compression, and therefore quality, and have found the DVB-S2 format a better alternative.
    Digital Satellite Service - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
  3. Panavision

    Panavision Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis Park, Minnesota
    Makes sense. Thanks for the the input.
     
  4. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    The Lake House
    DVB-S2 allows you to put more channels in smaller bandwidth
     
  5. skysurfer

    skysurfer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    42
    DirecTV uses DVB-S2 with some wrinkle I have yet to figure out because I've been unable to lock onto their flavor of DVB-S2 with my TBS 6925 card (while I've been able to lock onto pretty much everything else DVB-S/S2 in the sat arc including Directv's legacy DSS QPSK signals that you can find on the same Ku-band sat as DirecTV's DVB-S2D signal).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.

Separate names with a comma.

More...