What is the smallest dish I should use?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

punchy

Original poster
Sep 14, 2007
Kansas City, Missouri
Hi all,
I am completely new to the C-band scene and I'm looking for some newbie advice.

I am wanting to set up my first C-band dish in my backyard. My neighboorhood is one of those that frowns upon BUD's, however I think I still might be able to get away with it if I can adhere to a few simple low-profile principles in the setup.
I have a wood stockade fence surrounding the perimeter of my backyard, so I thought if I could figure out what the smallest dish is I could adequately get away with and mount it close to the ground, it might disappear from view (most of it, anyway).
I only need to be able to pick up just one station with it, so I can mount the dish in a fixed position. This will also greatly simplify the installation and reduce the cost of the hardware needed and also might alow me to mount the dish closer to the ground than most setups.
So mainly I need help in determining what the smallest dish is I can adequately receive my one station with. The city I live in is Kansas City, Missouri and the satellite I wish to receive is Galaxy 4, Transponder 16.
I will need someones help in determining what the smallest dish size I can use based on the calculated signal strength of the footprint of this one satellite (I don't know how to do this as I've never done this before).
Maybe someone would be kind enough to take me through the process. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks,
Punchy