What's the advantage of using bluetooth devices on Hopper?

samalex

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
Waco, Texas
We just got our Hopper installed today, so I'm still learning all the cool stuff it does. Something I noticed while going through the setup was you can pair bluetooth devices to it. What's the advantage of this? Can it stream audio from say my bluetooth phone or tablet? Or is it for using bluetooth headphones? If so wouldn't there be a slight delay in the sound and video?

Just curious if this is something we'd ever use. Thanks.

Some have reported that slight delay as well. I'm a terrible techie, and haven't caught up with the Bluetooth technology. Just not a fan of it, if a cord can be used, so I have no idea of the validity, but the people posting about it, I would say are top notch, so I trust their opinions.

Reactions: navychop
i have one of those vizio 5.1 soundbar with subwoofer and satellite speakers and phillips bluetooth headphones and they both sound great paired up to my HWS

Some have reported that slight delay as well. .
That could be a little misleading. Just to be clear, all audio within the HWS, whether analog, optical, BT, or from HDMI - are all in sync. As soon as you feed an A/V signal to some display device and there is delay caused by video processing, then that associated audio will be out of sync with the HWS. Just hook up your wired analog headphones to the HWS or run a separate optical feed to an amp with speakers, and you will see the delayed effect. Of course this refers to modern flat panel displays. If you are using and old CRT TV, you would not see this delay.