White line down the side of display

mrschwarz

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
May 17, 2004
I got a new Samsung LCD TV and upgraded to a ViP722. I am pretty sure that the problem I am having is with the station, but you guys are pretty smart and hopefully can offer some suggestions on how to get this resolved

The local Dallas NBC affiliate has a bright white line running up the absolute left side of the screen. It appears to only be a few pixels wide. No other channel has it. In fact, when the station goes from network to local feed, the white line goes away.

I have an outside antenna and the white line is the same off the air as it is over Dish. Is this a problem with my receiver, TV set or the station itself? This has been going on for a least a week. I was out of town and only noticed it a couple of days ago.

Thanks for any suggestions you can make.

It's called overscan

I am far from an expert on the technical side of this issue, however I ran into it when I recently purchased a brand new LCD TV. Basically the signal being sent is a pixel or two shy of the actual size of your TV. I see it most often on my OTA SD content where I get some lines at the very top and occasionally a solid line on OTA HD content on my NBC channel.

Only solution I have was go into the settings of my tv and adjust the aspect ratio. Mine has a "fill" setting that proportionately zooms the screen about 5%. So I loose a little bit of the image, but not enough to notice or affect quality. I have been tryng to find a service code to allow me to go in and tweak that setting, but so far have not been successful.

Otherwise, nothing you can do about it.

Overscan - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia