Why can I only see digital OTA during the evening hours?

120inna55

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Sep 14, 2003
Athens, Texas, United States
I'm 80 miles SE of Dallas. I literally live in the woods. I have a Channel Master (#3649) antenna on top of a 50' tower. Installed in 1997. The coax comes into an unknown amp.

I can receive the following networks from DFW consistently during the evening only: (ABC-WFAA-8.1, 8.2 / Fox-KDFW-4.1, 4.2 / NBC-KXAS-5.1, 5.2 / WB-KDAF-33.1). The amp doesn't seem to make a difference.

In the evenings the signals hang around 62-80 (per the 942). In the daytime, I'm not likely to get a strong enough signal to see anything. I can never consistently pull-in CBS-KTVT-11.1 or UPN-KTXA-21.1.

Why are my signals better in the evening as opposed to the daytime? Is it somehow related to sunlight, more interfering OTA signals?

There is one possible answer. During the day, the sunlight heat up more particles in the air, causing interfering with the signal. At night, the temperature is cooler so less particles bouncing around.

Just my 2 cents physics

Mike

120inna55,

korsjs,
some stations turn up the signal at night.

120inna55,
Many station have no digital feeds active until primetime, (not sure about your networks)

Most will run sub channels so there is a picture on the channels, but not all.
Most of the time ,where I live, there is no HD until evening.

Also, a lot of channels are running on low power still, until the FCC requires full power, that was a definite issue with my networks about a year ago, now I think my networks are up to full power,as they are easier to pick up.

Jimbo