Why do recorded shows come up as already having been watched?

dhjean

Thread Starter
SatelliteGuys Family
Apr 1, 2006
46
4
West Palm Beach, FL
Whenever I select a recording to watch, the display shows either 0 minutes remaining or 2 minutes remaining. I always have to select to “start over” to watch from the beginning.

I would expect that if I haven’t watched a particular recorded show, “resume” wouldn’t be an option, and it would show the entire length of the show remaining (e.g., 30 minutes remaining for a 30-minute show).

Is anyone else seeing this? Is this normal?
 
  • Like
Reactions: avediswolf

B1gted

SatelliteGuys Family
I haven't seen that issue yet on the Hopper 3. I did have an issue on the HWS that I would watch a DVR'd show and sometimes it would show that I only watched maybe 20% of it. I think it had something to do with how PTAT was deviding up the shows.
 

pweezil

L.G.O.E.
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
386
23
N.H.
I think if you go to DVR > Options > Timer Defaults and turn off "Smart Prepare For Mobile", it won't do that anymore. It's not retroactive, but anything recorded after the change won't have the resume option unless you, in fact, have already started it at some point.
 

n0qcu

Supporting Founder
Supporting Founder
Sep 7, 2003
4,786
1,290
Earth
I think if you go to DVR > Options > Timer Defaults and turn off "Smart Prepare For Mobile", it won't do that anymore. It's not retroactive, but anything recorded after the change won't have the resume option unless you, in fact, have already started it at some point.
Sorry but that will not make any difference the shows will still be marked as "watched" forcing you to select the show so that you can select start over.
 

dhjean

Thread Starter
SatelliteGuys Family
Apr 1, 2006
46
4
West Palm Beach, FL
Thanks for the replies. I turned off the "Smart Prepare for Mobile" and will see if it makes any difference in the next few days and will await word if there is anything else to try.
 

pweezil

L.G.O.E.
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
386
23
N.H.
Sorry but that will not make any difference the shows will still be marked as "watched" forcing you to select the show so that you can select start over.
My H3 was doing the same thing and it stopped the day I turned it off. Must have been a coincidence, but it's never done it since.
 

Hall

SatelliteGuys Master
Feb 14, 2004
18,409
3,194
Germantown OH
That "prepare for mobile" setting will only apply to NEW recordings, by the way.

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
 

Foxbat

Addicted to new HW
Supporting Founder
Lifetime Supporter
Nov 25, 2003
13,483
5,381
Michiana
I have seen that on the 4K Joey as well as the Hopper 3. Knowing this is how the interface works (for now?) I know that I can't press "|>" (play) to start playback of the program, but press "select" and then choose "Start Over".
 

Bobby

Publican
Supporting Founder
Lifetime Supporter
Sep 7, 2003
58,139
11,398
Rohnert Park, CA
I think if you go to DVR > Options > Timer Defaults and turn off "Smart Prepare For Mobile", it won't do that anymore. It's not retroactive, but anything recorded after the change won't have the resume option unless you, in fact, have already started it at some point.
Sorry but that will not make any difference the shows will still be marked as "watched" forcing you to select the show so that you can select start over.
I tested this. It, in fact, works. Every recording that I have made since turning off Smart Prepare now has Watch or Delete as the only options. If I do, indeed, watch a bit of a program Start Over and Resume become my options.
 

StringFellow

Member
May 19, 2012
14
8
USA
I too have this really annoying bug. All recording made to date are showing up as already watched. I will try the work around and turn off Smart Prepare. Hopefully this fixes the issue.

I hope Dish has logged this as an bug and it is planned for resolution. Amazes me that a bug this obvious was never found during testing and resolved.
 
  • Like
Reactions: avediswolf and Hall

enjanir

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Feb 17, 2016
20
6
61114
Do they claim to be watched by R00000000000....go into settings and disable smart prepare for mobile. If you are using the dish anywhere app make sure you don't hit "ok" when a popup comes up for making shows available in the app, this will turn smart prepare back on, you need to cancel out of the message.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Latest posts

Top