WildBlue and i-Chat Compatibility

Midas42

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 21, 2005
IL
I am a DISH dealer and installer. I have run into my first problem with MAC equipment. I have a customer with MAC's and he wants to chat with i-Chat to family members. It seems that WildBlue will not allow him to chat through the i-Chat program. Is there a way around this problem or am I going to have to go take the system out because he is not satisfied? Please advise if you have any ideas that work. Thanks.

with satellite modems, the bandwidth speed starts out slow and will then slowly begin to progress as needed. iChat looks for a highspeed connection right off the spot, and there is too much latency in the modems performance, and before the modem winds up its bandwidth ability iChat will fail with the bandwidth error.

whatcha gotta do is get the modem wound up before you launch iChat. go to a site with streaming video, like youtube for instance, start watching a video, wait for the modem to kick in its bandwidth capability and for the video to come in without being choppy, then attempt to log in to iChat.

pretty much, the wildblue modem has an extreme case of turbo lag. and its not just wildblue, hughs net is the same way. so even if the dude does want his wildblue removed, he will have the same result with hughs. and i doubt he has dsl or cable modem access if he is using wildblue. by the way, will chew through his bandwidth allowance really quick if he uses the video chat feature often. keep in mind he only has a 7.5 gig download limit on the cheapest package and 17 gigs on the highest end. and with his upload thresholds even being lower, 2.3 gigs low package and 5 gigs high package, he will be at his limit really quick.

The lag is not caused by the modem. It is the latency inherent in the distance between the ground and the satellite. There are 2 hops for a 2-way conversation.