Wireless joey range?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by bryanw20, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. bryanw20

    bryanw20 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    30
    So when I had my system upgraded to h3 lastyear, I got 3 wireless joey's for the house.

    What's the range of these? I may want to put one in my detached garage, aprox 300' from the wap(?)

    If not, can I:

    A) add another wireless point to boost range
    B) hardwire one in somehow?
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    I have a wireless joey with my HWS. I don't know the range, because mine is only a couple of rooms away. I had no problems until the forced
    upgrade. Now when I first turn it on, the station comes on for a couple of seconds & then back off for a couple of seconds. After that it is
    fine, except for the slowness, again due to the forced update
     
  4. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    51,850
    Likes Received:
    6,166
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    The Joey 2s are doing the same on and off and back on dance as well.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  5. bryanw20

    bryanw20 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    30
    I just thought that was normal!
     
  6. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    51,850
    Likes Received:
    6,166
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Probably is and it doesn’t bother me a bit. I just mentioned the Joey2s because it seemed like the earlier poster thought it was a wireless Joey thing,
     
  7. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    The listed range for a wireless Joey is 200 feet. A lot of things come into play here like metal in the walls, lead paint etc. I would be shocked if 300 feet will work
     
  8. Partysox

    Partysox SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    460
    Location:
    N central Indiana
    I don't know what your house setup is or where your access point is located but you would have to locate your access point next to the outside wall closest to your garage or even setting in a window to have a chance.
     
  9. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    You can also run a cable to the nearest point to the garage, connected as you would a joey and use a hic (Hopper internet Connector) at that spot with the Access Point connected to the HIC. That's how a WAP is relocated for better range to the WiFi Joeys
     
  10. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    19,636
    Likes Received:
    2,843
    Location:
    Indy
    That's a pie in the sky estimate. Half that and you might still have problems, pending the physical "real world of a home".
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  11. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Right right, exactly
     



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...