Wrong aspect ratio on some channels

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

nightwingken

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 26, 2009
PA
Hi newbie here to the forum.

I am located in PA/Ohio border. I have both Cable and DN.

I first noticed the problem on our local station
WFMJ out of youngstown.

When I look at the cable, the picture is being sent out in widescreen. when i flick it over to dish, the picture is zoomed in to fill up the screen.

It is happening on "Heroes" "Office" the "Templer Knight " flick and then i noticed it happening on KTLA out of LA during "Smallville" & "Supernatural".

I have spent HOURS on the phone with DN. their CSR is clueless.

They told me that the local station must be doing it.

They wanted me to unplug my unit, and do all sorts of things , that were more like voodoo than actual tech support :lol

it seems to be only happening on certain stations

I have a DVR #625 dual unit DP+

I also have 3 other units and it is doing it on all of them. I can litterally toggle back and forth and see the aspect ratio and the blowing up of the picture.

so does anyone have any clue as to what is going on? is it dish, is it the locals in Youngstown and LA?

is it dish, thanks in advance
Ken

rather than letterboxing the locals DISH is zooming them (there is nothing you can do about it)

if that is the case it is wrong , I am getting an altered picture. one of the csr basically said that i am losing nothing of the picture. How come the DN CSR's do not know this is happening?

is there anything we can do to get them to change it?