722, keep it or send it back ... ?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by wormil, Feb 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. wormil

    wormil Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The other day our 722 receiver was making noise, sounded like the hard drive running constantly, and the next morning it was DOA. I tried rebooting and unplugging for a minute, didn't work. Called tech support, they had me do some troubleshooting, no-go. They ship me a replacement. My wife comes home, plugs it in and for 3 days now it's working fine and quieter than it's ever been. Considering what a PITA it is reprogram the DVR, I'm thinking I'll keep it and send the replacement back. Thoughts or advice?
     

  2. navychop

    navychopMember of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    39,565
    Likes Received:
    4,991
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I doubt it'll be good for long. But the replacement may not be much better. Those HDDs are aging. I expect their supply of new ones ran out years ago.

    Whichever one you keep, once it goes- look at a Hopper. Or whatever is new on the street then.
     
  3. wormil

    wormil Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I asked about a hopper and they wanted $150 + $7 month. I pay too much already.

    Sent from my KFGIWI using Tapatalk
     
    crodrules and TheKrell like this.
  4. fmj77

    fmj77Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    My 722 was always noisy but it worked perfectly for years until I bought a new Sony Bravia 4K TV. The 722 did not behave well with the new TV. Constantly rebooting and resetting itself. I ended up having to downgrade to a 612, which due to different software than the 722, works fine with my Bravia.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  5. TheKrell

    TheKrellA mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    16,424
    Likes Received:
    3,489
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I had the fan fail on my 1st 722. It sporadically put up a plain screen saying it was too hot, and refused to do anything. Have you seen any of those messages? I went to Micro Center, bought a suitable fan for $9, and (since I own this receiver) fixed that problem myself. That fix lasted for 3 or 4 more years and then it developed a bizarre channel authorization problem. DIRT replaced the receiver for me, and the 2nd 722 has been good for years more.

    If you do decide to replace it, which I recommend, I'd suggest doing these two things:
    1. Get an EHD and move all the programs on the internal disk to external so that you'll have them to watch on your replacement receiver.
    2. Go to http://dishanywhere.com and make a paper copy of your timers so that you'll know what you had before.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  6. navychop

    navychopMember of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    39,565
    Likes Received:
    4,991
    Location:
    Northern VA
    And when the next failure occurs, the Hopper may well be cheaper. Or DIRT might help lower the price.
     
  7. wormil

    wormil Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Carolina
    No error messages at all. The 722 has always been noisy, but it got extra noisy for about 24 hours and I woke up to a black screen no error message. I rebooted, unplugged, etc. But it's quieter now than it's ever been.

    Sent from my KFGIWI using Tapatalk
     
  8. DWS44

    DWS44SatelliteGuys Pro
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Posts:
    4,761
    Likes Received:
    1,512
    Location:
    Rock Hill, SC
    Didn't the 722s backup timers to the remote as well? I thought we had that before the Hoppers. Maybe just on 722K?
     
  9. dare2be

    dare2beSatelliteGuys God
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    9,694
    Likes Received:
    3,127
    Location:
    FL
    Just the 722K I believe.
     
    TheKrell and DWS44 like this.
  10. Bobby

    BobbyPublican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    48,413
    Likes Received:
    3,724
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    This is correct.
     
  11. wormil

    wormil Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Carolina
    According to the email I have 30 days to return the defective unit so I'm going to wait a few more days and see what happens. In the meantime I'll back recordings up to an external drive and print out a list of dvr timers.
     
  12. crodrules

    crodrulesSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I have had this happen several times before. (The old receiver started working again before I got the replacement.) Each time, I sent the replacement back to Dish and kept using the old receiver. I agree with you about it being a pain to set up a new receiver from scratch.

    If you keep using the old receiver until it completely dies, Dish may be offering a better replacement receiver by then. I had a ViP211 (non-k) die and start working again, so I sent the replacement ViP211 (non-k) back. When this ViP211 died the second time, many years later, I got a ViP211k as the replacement. :)
     
  13. crodrules

    crodrulesSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    My sister had the opposite experience with her TV. After I switched her from a Hopper to a ViP612 to save money, she had so many problems with the ViP612 (I tried more than one.) that I got Dish to give her a free upgrade to a ViP722k, which does not have any of the problems she experienced with the ViP612.
     
  14. fmj77

    fmj77Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Mine was the VIP722, not the 722k. For some reason. Dish could not guarantee that they'd send me a 722k as a replacement, even though the 722k has been confirmed not to have the problems with Sony Bravias. No matter. The 612 has worked great.
     
    crodrules and TheKrell like this.

SatelliteGuys
All Posts / Content © 2003 - 2016 SatelliteGuys.US - All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License
All Trademarks, Trade names and Registered Trademarks are property of their respective companies.

Sucuri
VigLink badge