Problem with Dish 311

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by mediumshow, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. mediumshow

    mediumshow Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I'm having problems installing my new Dish 311.

    Here's the deal: My old receiver broke, so I got them to send me a new one. When I plug it in and connect everything, it won't pick up a signal. I run the check switch and it says X on everything. Also, it makes a very low whining noise and gets quite warm on top. My old one used to do this, too... but I'd unscrew the coaxial cable and it'd quit.

    I'm pretty sure it's not the coaxial, but can it be anything else?

    Thanks in advance,

    Mike
     
    #1
  2. WiCkeDuDe

    WiCkeDuDe Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have a short on the cabling somewhere. Check to make sure the connector doesnt have any braiding from the jacket touching the center. If they both did it then its a pretty sure sign something is amiss with your cabling/lnbs.
     
    #2
  3. kb2vgp

    kb2vgp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    First, are there any other receivers in your system and (if there are) are they working properly? If you are getting X when you run the check switch the receiver is somehow not receiving any satellites. Did your previous receiver have the same problem? In trying to troubleshoot your system you need to look over everything. Start at the receiver and check the cable. Follow the cable out to the dish looking for any signs of breakage or other problems. If there are any connections, check those as well. Lastly, the dish could be out of alignment. Have you have any recent high winds or other severe weather? If the dish moved even an inch, you lose your satellites and it will still look as if is it pointed correctly. It could be that your installer never tightened all the bolts on the dish to withstand high winds. With your 311 showing X, I suspect that something else in the system is the cause. It has been my experience that receivers are usually not the problem. Hope this helps!
     
    #3
  4. mediumshow

    mediumshow Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That little piece of braiding caused all this. Thanks for the help :)


    Thank you too, kb2vgp. I do have two receivers and the other works fine.
     
    #4
  5. WiCkeDuDe

    WiCkeDuDe Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem. Ive seen it many times.
     
    #5

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri