10' Channel Master Convert For EME 1296 Use

Status
Please reply by conversation.

DSA

Original poster
Apr 24, 2009
Toledo Ohio
Hello All, I recently picked up a Channel Master 10' Fiberglass dish. It is in great shape. (Anyway of identifying the model #? The sticker is worn off) I have started working on it and will be testing the motor for it soon. I will be using this dish for EME communications and have some questions since I am new to this.

First off, I would like to get the dish away from the house approximately 150 feet if possible. I know the closer the better because of Feedline coax cable loss, however I wanted to know if using Hardline or Heliax (sp?) or other would take care of the distance problem. Secondly, anyone know of the best Feedhorn to use for EME 1296? I would be building this myself so any diagrams would be helpful. Thirdly, I will need to control the dish completely from a computer which will require customizing the motors/mounts etc. Before I go through a lot of work I would be interested to see if anyone has diagrams, etc. for this. Any help is greatly appreciated! This is a great site and I look forward to your replies.:)

While we do have a number of hams here, and some might know about the subject, you may be better served on a ham-specific site.
Most of what we discuss (not necessarily all we know) is satellite communication on C-band and Ku.
(4 ghz, and 12 ghz)

Earth Moon Earth (EME) on 1296 mhz is not something I've seen come up in conversation a lot here. :)
Likewise, I've not seen serious discussion of HAMSAT.

If one of the members in the know, should post links for any of the above, I'll happily read about it. - :up
I've been a WA6___ since around 1970.
Best of luck.