1000.2 dish pointing question

RTCDude

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 20, 2005
San Jose, CA
Folks,

I've had a 1000.2 dish for about a year now. When I first set it up, I could never it get aligned properly so that 129 come in. Instead, I had the classic problem of getting 119 on the 129 horn, and 110 on the 119 horn. This hasn't been a problem up to now since I only had two 5xx receivers that really didn't need 129. But since I had already spent too many hours trying to align the dish, I just left it with this misaligned, but acceptable alignment.

Now I'm not a professional installer, but over the course of the last dozen years or so I've installed 50 or more Dish or Direct systems for family, friends, and friends of friends. I've always been very meticulous with mounting alignment. Hence, I've always been able to hit the correct bird within about fifteen minutes or less with just a compass (with the exception of one dish that was bent). So I was always very perplexed as to why it seems impossible for me to align this 1000.2. This was however the first 1000.2 I had attempted, and just figured there was just something I was doing wrong.

This January I replaced my 501 with a 722, and now wanted the 129 bird. After many hours of frustrating adjusting and readjusting, I finally lucked out and happened to hit all three birds properly.

The issue had been the elevation. The pointing table instructions that came the dish said to use 46 degrees elevation for my ZIP, 95037. Now we all know that the real elevation can vary by a degree or two, and I took that into account in my previous alignment attempts. However, the actual peaked elevation turned out to be 51 degrees (which is far further than I ever tried, and why I never found it).

That brings up the question, has anyone else seen these printed tables being so far off? This was a brand new dish and didn't seem to be defective in any way.

Last edited:
NOPE!!!
The tables aren't off, BUT post Plumbness is.