1Hopper, 2 Joeys on perfect install takes 6 hours. Plus Tech war heard!

iceshark

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 10, 2004
Pacific Northwest
Wow! First off thanks to all the members here and there FAQ answers. I am an ex installer from the startup DTV days with RCA. So I am glad I was ready for this mess.

1. 10 year old home I prewired with excellent commscope direct bury copper rg6 thru home. All to one junction box on side of house. Cancelling DTV so I had my 3 RG6 leads labeled. Main, Bed1 Bed2 My internet and router are in main room about 8 feet from junction box outside and just a few more feet to dish. So very short cable runs. My Hopper to go next to router and be hard wired to router.

The HDMI and RG6 leads in all 3 rooms out and ready to plug in.

This should be a very short installation as I have made it plug and play for dish installer. . WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Installer shows up on time and is a 10 year installer for Dish and a calm very nice person. He proceeds to let me know I am his first Hopper install and he has been off since 15th so he only has heard nightmares all day on first day of work week for him on his Nextel. He tells me only one person from his office in Bothell WA was sent to training and none of the others including him were trained and he only has seen it in the office.

I let him know what the mistakes people are making and he is very happy to hear my help. During my 6 hours install he shared my info to help out his other stuck fellow installers. I even printed some troubleshooting tips from this site. He was so impressed he bookmarked this site in his phone to join later.

Ok to install,
Again mine should be cake. one hopper and 2 joeys all prewired.