Adding receiver help

mjknight

Original poster
Oct 5, 2010
Michigan
Hi - newbie here so bare with me. We just upgraded to HD about 5 months ago and now we just purchased another HDTV for our bedroom. Since I have a 222k in the living room and can only get HD on one tv, we decided to purchase a 211k receiver for the bedroom. I can't upgrade again so soon, so I had to purchase the receiver online.

Now, I need to hook it up. Is there a diagram or something that we can view? I am not sure exactly what dish we have but I know that they took out the old and put in a new one.

It is my understanding (correct me if I am wrong) that there is another connection on the dish that we hook cable to and then run that into the house to the bedroom. I need to call dish to have the new receiver activated. Then what? Do I program all of the settings to be same as the other one?

I am capable of doing all of this but since I have not done it before, I just want to make sure that I am doing this correctly. I couldn't see paying $95 for an installation charge for something that I am sure is easy to do and by these forums, it seems that a lot people do it themselves. I just need to be pointed in the right direction if I am going the wrong way.

Thanks for your help!!

Yes, you can do it yourself. You very likely have a 1000.2 (western arc) or 1000.4 (eastern arc) dish with integrated triple LNB and DishPro Plus switch. Hit the menu 6-1-3 and it should say what you have. If you have international channels on 118, then ignore what I'm about to say.