Additional Receiver Fees

Discussion in 'Orby TV - Support Forum' started by Tvland1, Mar 12, 2019.

  1. Tvland1

    Tvland1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    ohio
    Just to clear up some details..You can have up to 4 total receivers on an account..There is a $5.00 activation of each additional receiver.There is No additional fee per month for additional receiver unless your using DVR receivers!! I've read several times that there's a per month fee of $5 ...Not true!! Now if your using DVR receivers there is a fee.
    DVR service is $4/month if you have a programming package and $12/month by itself, if you just want to record local channels.
     
    wvman, cannonz, trojan67 and 6 others like this.
  2. cannonz

    cannonz Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I wondered if there was a max, odd they would care.
     
  3. dishdude

    dishdude SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    13,434
    Likes Received:
    20,490
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Do we know if the DVR service fee is per account or per receiver?
     
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,545
    Likes Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I see they didn't waste any chance on charging phony equipment fee's right out of the gate. If they survive the first year, guess we'll see where that all leads.

    As for the $12 a month "fee" for only local channels, those local channels are provided through the antenna on the dish pole, and likely do NOT cost Orby a single dime to provide. So they are likely not paying retrans fee's. Pure profit, beyond if they have to pay a bit for the guide service.

    I'm all for profit, but companies are going a little insane with it, and pricing themselves out of the market.
     
  5. Tvland1

    Tvland1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    ohio
    I'm sure the max of 4 receivers is to cut down on account sharing of multiple locations...That's also why you can't just go out and buy the dish kits like Dish and DTV did..
    The CRS I talked with said the fee is per account.You could have 4 DVR's and it's still only $4..I can't see anyone buying a DVR and using it for only locals
     
  6. cannonz

    cannonz Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Especially since you can get a 2 tuner TiVo with lifetime that will do OTA for $100-$150. $4 for all 4 isn't bad.
     
    Tvland1 likes this.
  7. Tvland1

    Tvland1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    ohio
    I guess if you want to spend $800 for 4 receivers it's good price for DVR..LOL..
    Myself I don't use DVR..At my age I'm doing good to just change channels..
     
  8. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    When I was installing Dish, I cringed every time someone wanted 3 or 4 receivers because I knew they wouldn't keep them all active, which cost me money. Most of the time when someone wanted that many receivers, it was when Dish offered a "Free" system. They never looked at the cost with additional receivers. All they saw was "Free."
     
  9. cannonz

    cannonz Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Why did it cost you money?
     
  10. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    When they discontinued the receivers, Dish did a charge back because the receivers had not been active for 12 consecutive months. Dish required us to get a credit card number from the customer, but they took money back from the us rather than charging the cancelation fee to the customer's credit card.

    The customer could reactivate the receivers later, but they would not give back the money they took from us. Dish lost sight of the fact that it was the independent retailers who put them on the map, and that's when they started losing independent retailers. At one time, I could name at least 30 independent retailers in the area, and now, there's only one still installing for Dish.
     
    #10 wvman, Mar 15, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
  11. cannonz

    cannonz Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I figured that was only way but thought no way anyone (Dish) could be that ballsy to take money back, their the one who had the pop up cost installer just followed directions.
     
  12. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    N. Central WV

    We made money selling Dish, but you had to watch them like a hawk. :)
     
  13. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Just curious, is that your collection of dishes in your profile picture? :)
     
  14. Tvland1

    Tvland1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    ohio
    No just a pic I had for some time now..My wife had a cow when I only had 3 dishes on the roof 15yrs ago..Lol
     
    wvman likes this.
  15. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    It makes you wonder what satellites all those dishes would be aimed at. :) Thanks
     
  16. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,804
    Likes Received:
    2,774
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I never had that problem, but the few who did where a bit surprised when I called them up and setup an appointment to get my free receiver that they where not using back. M

    Most would have us reactivate it at that point when I explained the receiver would cost them $100 if they wanted to have Tv in that room again
     
  17. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,804
    Likes Received:
    2,774
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Actually it was 230 days at one point, then later changed to 180 days.

    I believe equipment chargeback is only 30 days now.

    I ripped a lot of systems out of customers homes. They where even more surprised where I even removed the wiring.
     
    Tvland1 and wvman like this.
  18. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    We were set up with Equifax to check a customer's credit, and we found out Dish had the credit score requirements for a free system set so low, a hobo living under a bridge could get a free system. My wife started calling Equifax to see what their actual credit score was, and if their score was too low, we sent them somewhere else. When we started doing that, it eliminated a lot of chargebacks.

    I don't remember when Dish started going to rental installations, but a few months after that, we stopped installing them. I refused to mess with getting the equipment back, decommissioning it and then trying to explain to a new customer why their equipment had cosmetic imperfections. They didn't like it when you explained it had been previously installed somewhere else. :)
     
    Tvland1 and TheKrell like this.
  19. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,804
    Likes Received:
    2,774
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    We actually got an account with equifax to check the credit ourselves, and would run a separate credit report.

    We would never turn a customer away but rather put those high risk customers under a program where Dish did the install.

    At one point I would have one of my employees get setup as an affiliate with VMC satellite and we would sell the customers to them until we owed money for chargebacks. Which we would just switch to another employees affiliate account.

    As far as the returned equipment, we just did an RMA and setup a return.

    Then dish wanted to start charging no problem found fees of $30 each.

    So I did something to every RMA so the receiver had a problem when dish got it back.

    They did start requiring RMA’s on all DVR’s after a family got a used DVR with porn on it from the previous customer and sued dish.
     
  20. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    5,765
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    What forum am I reading? No equipment chargebacks, credit checks or cancellation fees on my OrbyTV account...
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...