Advice on buying/removing bud

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ashdavely

Original poster
Feb 3, 2011
Los Angeles
I was considering buying this bud for $60. The owner says it's 10ft but I can't really tell. I was looking for a 6ft because I thought it would be easier to manage and I wanted to mount it on top of my flat patio roof. This one would have to be mounted at my place just like it is in the picture. Can anyone give me advice on how to take this one down? Do you think I could partially sawzall the mast at ground level then bend it down using a rope? I can't see how I would be able to get to it safely standing on the roof. How much do you think it weighs? Looks like it can be moved with a motor but I'm not sure. Is it worth taking? I am new to FTA and wanted to check out C-band. This is my first post here. Any advice would be appreciated.
Sattelite 001x.jpgSattelite 002x.jpg

You won't regret having a 10' dish. As for this one, I wouldn't be eager to pay anything for it, and frankly would look for something more down to earth and not a button hook. But if it's your only option...

That looks to be a handful to take down. Would appear that the only way to get that down is a man-lift. And that requires room to maneuver it beside the base. Of which, it looks like little is available. And a couple of strong people to man handle it off the pole. I ditto toucan-man's assessment.

That looks to be a handful to take down. Would appear that the only way to get that down is a man-lift. And that requires room to maneuver it beside the base. Of which, it looks like little is available. And a couple of strong people to man handle it off the pole. I ditto toucan-man's assessment.
Very true...you can only drop it ONCE..

Yeah, they are right. I once took an 8-footer down, but its distance to the roof was much closer, so I was able to take it off the mast just from standing on the roof. Then I sawed the mast off.