Advise on How to aim SuperDish 105

juansat1

Original poster
Aug 29, 2004
I have a superdish 105 that I am installing on ground post...I would like advise on the proper way to site in this dish.. My Questions are...

1. Should you site in 110 or 119 first then 105 .

2. I have a channel master signal meter (is it better to use meter or receiver for 105...this is a new one for me ... i have done a number of D setups and a few dish500 but never a SD.

3. what signal strengh should I expect on 119 110 and 105...I am in Louisiana.

do appreciate any help or advise.
johnny

Welcome aboard! Good questions!

The answers are: it's mostly up to you.

I think it'll be easier to get a lock on 110/119 when you start, but you'll need to finish with 105 anyway.

Your meter should work just fine - but I prefer to finish the job by using the Point Dish screen when possible.

There's some variance by receiver type, but 100+ on 110/119 transponders 11 & 12 is feasible. 105 is a very weak bird. See if you can beat 70. Remember that 105 is more sensitive to skew because it's FSS - a V/H polarity setup. The 'standard' birds are much more forgiving because they use circular polarity.

SimpleSimon said:
Welcome aboard! Good questions!

The answers are: it's mostly up to you.

I think it'll be easier to get a lock on 110/119 when you start, but you'll need to finish with 105 anyway.

Your meter should work just fine - but I prefer to finish the job by using the Point Dish screen when possible.

There's some variance by receiver type, but 100+ on 110/119 transponders 11 & 12 is feasible. 105 is a very weak bird. See if you can beat 70. Remember that 105 is more sensitive to skew because it's FSS - a V/H polarity setup. The 'standard' birds are much more forgiving because they use circular polarity.

Thanks SimpleSimon,
Thats the way I did it..I got around 100 on 110/119 and 62 on 105 by adjusting the az and elv ...I did not adjust skew I left it set on 110 ...should