Anik F1 107.3 W

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by VE2FCZ, Nov 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. VE2FCZ

    VE2FCZ Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    St Rémi Quebec Canada
    CBC Canadian feeds on 107.3 W.
    Have they merged to another sat?
    I dont get them anymore.
    Thanks. Bob VE2FCZ.
     
  2. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    maritimes
    I've read that their Cband feed went to 97west. I believe their ku band feeds went to Eutelsat 115 west B. I cannot check that satellite, but it should be there if they are broadcasting.

    Catamount
     
  3. VE2FCZ

    VE2FCZ Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    St Rémi Quebec Canada
    Thanks i will try on 115 W.
     
  4. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Boonies
    All the CBC is scrambled on 97, but there might be some radio channels available in the future, not sure if they would be scrambled or not though.
     
  5. VE2FCZ

    VE2FCZ Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    St Rémi Quebec Canada
    Thanks Cham i only have KU band.
    VE2FCZ
     
  6. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Boonies
    You must change that! :)
     
  7. MikeI

    MikeI SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Posts:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    158
    Fredericton is powervu Scrambled on 97w. Montreal is on 115w unscrambled. Northern footprint needed. Rest that were on 107w is gone. Budget cuts.

    Sent from my VS995 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  8. N5XZS

    N5XZS SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,341
    Likes Received:
    537
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Nothing on 115W* for any Canada's TV signal.:(. I guess they are FTA Ku band shy and so called copyright censorship on the pulbic radio airways. Blame on Canadian version of FCC.:( That's what I think. Put your input on this.:)
     
  9. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Boonies
    You're gonna make me ride the soapbox again...
    I've talked to CBC management and a cabinet Minister about this issue. Then an election came and the deck chairs were re-arranged. Now my MP is MIA and personal changes at CBC make talking to anyone there almost impossible.
     
  10. kofi123

    kofi123 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Central MN
    Cham likes this.
  11. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    761
    Likes Received:
    713
    Location:
    Connecticut
    the 115W beam is supposed to be strong over Canada and northern US, not so much in NM. But despite the EIRP on the map (51 dBW here), that signal is hard to lock, and degrades easily in bad weather.
     
  12. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Boonies
    They would likely save that much again dropping the encryption... Thank you for the document though I would never have found that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.

Separate names with a comma.

More...