Anik F1, F2, F3 south of the Rio Grande

Status
Please reply by conversation.

John Popper

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 11, 2009
Central Mexico
Im new to FTA and wanted to know if it's even worth it to scan for these satellites (since im using my old analog receiver to position the BUD) being that I live in Central Mexico. If I remember correctly aren't these Satellites mainly for Canada? I would love to get those Quebec channels as well as those Univision feeds but want to know if you guys in the South even get them?

Im new to FTA and wanted to know if it's even worth it to scan for these satellites (since im using my old analog receiver to position the BUD) being that I live in Central Mexico. If I remember correctly aren't these Satellites mainly for Canada? I would love to get those Quebec channels as well as those Univision feeds but want to know if you guys in the South even get them?

Hello John,

I can't tell you a whole lot about these satellites. I think they are well encrypted or using Turbo 8PSK modulation for the Ku-band signals at least. The C-Band stuff might be FTA and the C-band TP listed on Anik F3 is shown as FTA on Lyngsat, but I can not check that for you since I only have a KU-Band setup right now.

I know 111.1 W Anik F2 as that is the satellite where I derive my WildBlue internet service from, but that is about all I know.

Lyngsat, SatCoDX and SATBeams.com are the sites outside of our forum that you should investigate. Here on the forum, there is the tool "The List". Research this, too.

The Anik sats are generally for Canada, but not entirely so. Anik F3 is for DN in the US and as I mentioned, F2 serves Wild Blue for the US as well.

Check out the sites that I mentioned above for more specific details. Check them all as sometimes they are not updated immediately. You need to double check each one against the other to be certain.

RADAR