Another Bird View Comes Back To Life!!!

Status
Please reply by conversation.
I'm just not getting it. If the measurements were properly made in a Faraday cage, the only incoming source of RF leakage would be the control cables that crossed the boundary. Given the control pulses probably were below the kHz region and the RF was around a MHz, it should be quite straightforward to filter out the RF. Is it possible the cables entering the cage were re-radiating inside, thus nullifying the whole point of the Faraday cage? Nevertheless I do understand the necessity of getting something to work, even if you have to use a cannon when a spit ball would do.

Regarding ham licenses, long long ago when I was a physics undergrad, I handled the classical music shifts at a community FM station. One evening when the chief engineer got torqued and walked out, the station manager freaked. Back then stations had to have someone listed with a First Phone license, or go dark until they did. Being as I was the only one there with a technical background, I was dispatched on the bus to Denver the following morning to take the First Class Radiotelephone Operator exam.

This was no big deal, and given that I had to wait until evening for a bus back, I discovered I could take an amateur license exam during the interim. The only problem was I really didn't know Morse anymore, having largely forgotten it from my SWL experiences as a kid. So I hoofed it over to the library, and as a good college student does, started cramming. The examiner was awfully sympathetic with my klutzy code, and let me walk out with an Amateur General Class license to boot.