Antenna Aiming using tv

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by mr.crane, Jan 1, 2018.

  1. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    So, how many people here use a tv to help align outdoor antenna.
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,068
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    MO/KS
    If the TV has signal strength/quality meters, it can work. There are better ways, though..
     
    mr.crane likes this.
  4. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    14,292
    Likes Received:
    3,928
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    I do for fine tuning if a particular signal is more finicky. I have one channel for my Tampa locals, WEDU that needs the antenna to be nudged just right to make sure I don't lose the signal from time time. Otherwise I use a compass and TV Fool.
     
    mr.crane likes this.
  5. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    42,132
    Likes Received:
    7,238
    Location:
    Northern VA
    At home, sit in MBR and use the TVs signal meter. I yell out to my wife on the roof to turn it a little.

    Not really. I have a CM rotor. Easy peasy.

    :D
     
    Horsepower and mr.crane like this.
  6. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    I have a Stellar Labs flat panel 2 sections, 1 section can be moved. Fresno,Ca has 2 towers. 1 tower I get 80& of channels, I cannot seem to find the other
    one, which has PBS station and a few others. I like this guys set up. I see he has something attached to the coaxial cable from antenna.
     
  7. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,068
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    MO/KS
    I have an HD Homerun tuner connected to my router. Then I take my iPhone up there on the roof with me and use the meter on my phone to point it. Works well.
     
    navychop and mr.crane like this.
  8. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    Where did you purchase your homerun? Thanks for your input
     
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,068
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    MO/KS
    On Ebay. Got an HD Homerun Connect on there last month for $63. Older models can be had for even less
     
  10. Horsepower

    Horsepower SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    80
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    OTA is a bit of a challenge in the outskirts of Richmond VA market. The best thing I have found is a motorized rotating antenna. They are available for around $30 bucks on eBay. When getting a great signal on one channel, the position of the antenna may cause you to lose, or lose quality on other channels. So it is great to be able to move the thing with just pressing a remote button. I highly recommend getting one that has a fitting for you to install your own coax cable to instead of the built-in cheap/thin coax that can't be replaced.
     
  11. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    I read your Thread, so you got it from Ebay. OK, will look into it.
     
  12. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    So it is very Acurrate
     
  13. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    Forgot to mention I have an Android phone
     
  14. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,068
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    MO/KS
    There is an app for Android also
     
  15. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    Thanks!
     



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...