Any body have anything good/bad to say about Cisco 850 series?

nonrev

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 2, 2007
NJ
Any body have anything good/bad to say about Cisco 850 series routers?
I looking at it for 2 reasons.

First I’m studying for my CCNA and needed a router that had the Cisco ios on it to practice. I’m looking at the 851w because wireless is a must.

Second my home network is growing to a point where the traffic is starting to bog down my D-Link. Also have tried Linksys with same results poor performance.

I figured I’d kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

While I cannot comment on the Cisco routers (I use a CheckPoint router at home), I would recommend splitting up your router and wireless access point. That way you can upgrade either without affecting the other.

You can find 2500 series routers which also run IOS and are extremely cheap since they are a couple of generations back. Still the IOS functionality is 99% the same. A 2514 has two ethernet AUI ports @ 10Mbps.

We use the 2811's at work and I couldn't be happier with them. Like Steven said though, I wouldn't dream of integrating wireless into the same device we use for our core routing.

Hello, I'm a MCP and I've also just started studying for the new tests for mine, I have a enterprise level cisco 2500 series 2514 router with cisco router cables. There is one on ebay right now for 40 bucks!@!! here's the item number 170213971141

If you have a good laptop, studying basic routers like this one that are still in 40 percent of small businesses is the way to go. You really need to work with this level because you can get all the latest firmware and revisions and of course add a 3500 level switch for more advanced studies later on which integrates nicely. I recomend also buying a different brand router to investigate other manufacturers... true they are only 10 or 20 percent of the market. But it helps to know others out there. Many state governments use off brand routers.