Austin - TX - Help me get started

momoune

Original poster
Dec 1, 2010
Austin, TX
OK. You have a real Rookie here . where should I start to get HD satellite Service in Austin TX from Canada (30° 16' 0" N / 97° 44' 34" W). I am looking for mostly French Canadian TV to make sure my kids do not lose all of their French.

Being told Bell has better HD... But more difficult to get good reception in Texas

I currently have a starChoice DSR505 HD Receiver. no other equiment. I am ready to buy new if you suggest I go with Bell.

Can I buy Dish locally? Should I bring it back from Canada (I am going to Canada in December. I can bring back everything I would need.)

Which Model? Dish?

As you can see I have very little knowledge... I looked at many threads but did not find this type of answer.

Bienvenue Momoune....

You will not be able to use Bell in Texas. The new Bell satellite, launched at longitude 82 in 2008, does not cover the southern US. I'm not a Bell customer, but I understand that some, or maybe all, of the HD is on the 82 satellite. Whatever programming that comes from the satellite at longitude 91 might still be receivable in Texas.

Shaw, on the other hand, would be no problem in Texas. The signal strength from both satellites is more than sufficient, well down into Mexico. You would want the larger of the two Shaw dishes....the 75e.

You likely would not be able to buy any equipment locally, be it Bell or Shaw equipment. You say you have a 505....if you already have an active Shaw account, all you need to do is get a 75e dish & LNB. You can order one from Kusat.com, have it shipped (1) directly to you in Texas: shipping about $130, or (2) have it shipped to a friend's address in Canada for much less money, and then bring it to TX on you trip back.

Note that Kusat.com has all sorts of Shaw equipment. They're in downtown Montreal, but I don't believe they have a storefront: the are primarily an Internet business.