AZBox "GoGo" list

AcWxRadar

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 26, 2006
40 miles NW of Omaha. Omaha?
Hi folks,

I am still learning on this box, so all my information is not really well refined as yet. I will simply be feeding my own experiences from time to time as I fall into something new and get started.

I have upgraded the box to the new image available (in Linux terminology, an image file is the latest Firmware or bin file).

I have my AZBox connected with a hardwire Ethernet cable to my Linksys Router.

The router is connected to my WildBlue internet modem, which is connected to my WB satellite dish aimed at 111.1'W ANIK F2.

I dowloaded the most recent image just a few days ago and have been experimenting to see what the differences and upgrades are.

Difficult to notice all the nuances, but everything works pretty well.

The most recent feature that I tested is the "GO-GO" list. I thought that this was a channel and TP/SAT upgrade available only to the European market. Guess what? It works! I was able to download channels for Hispasat 1C/1D @ 30.0'W.

I tested the Go-Go function with this sat first as I have not actually set up this sat in my menus yet, so I knew that no channels could have ever been scanned in.

Running the Go-Go list update brought in a ton of channels, but I am afraid that it did not bring in all the North American channels. I know that there are many FTA channels available on Hispasat, but I see that it downloaded mainly the pay channels. Without investigating each of them, I am assuming that they might just be the channels beamed to the European market.

Never-the-less, it still means that the Go-Go feature does work and loads nicely! They may have to simply keep up their work to provide support for the North American market. They may not have this fully supported yet.